Call Us: 386-255-6475 ext 50730

FUTURES Sponsors 35th Annual Tomorrow’s Leaders Program

FUTURES Sponsors 35th Annual Tomorrow’s Leaders Program

FUTURES Foundation for Volusia County Schools is proud to announce the selection of 40 high school juniors to participate in the Tomorrow’s Leaders Program. This year marks 35 years of this program which develops young leaders for our community.

The students, representing all 10 public high schools, recently attended an orientation session. During the next six months, students will participate in five seminars designed to familiarize them with different aspects and services in Volusia County and to develop leadership skills. The program includes lectures, presentations, discussions and physical tours of various businesses and governmental facilities. Seminar subjects will include: the arts; criminal justice and court system; economic development; manufacturing; educational and governmental systems; leadership, diversity, and ethics; sports marketing; healthcare; and social services. Hosts and tour sites include the Atlantic Center for the Arts, Boston Whaler, Daytona Tortugas at Jackie Robinson Ballpark, Daytona International Speedway & NASCAR, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Halifax Health Medical Center, Halifax Urban Ministries’ Hope Place, Houligan’s a Spirited Sports Grille, Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA), Seventh Judicial Circuit Judge Dawn Nichols’ Courtroom, SMA Healthcare’s Residential Adolescent Program, Volusia County Council Chambers, Volusia County Historic Courthouse, Volusia County Elections Department, and Volusia County Schools’ District Administrative Complex. This year’s program sponsors include William & Linda Cuthbert, Houligan’s a Spirited Sports Grille and Rosaria C. Upchurch, Ph.D., LMFT of Upchurch Counseling & Therapy.

Participating in this year’s Tomorrow’s Leaders Program are:

Atlantic High School

James Begnoche

Gianluca Gutierrrez

Carlina Roberts

Sydney Sanford


DeLand High School

Fidha Chowdhurt

Ella Eagan

Lauren Hill

Jaliyah Powell


Deltona High School

Katie Berrios

Natalie Bradley

Jimmie Stone           


Mainland High School

Ana Chuven

Jade Long

Natalie Ramos

Lina Velez

Carson Wagner


New Smyrna Beach High School

Samantha Jolley

Layla Reasin

Miracle Williams


Pine Ridge High School

Sophie Headrick

Katherin Ruiz

Eddy Wilkinson


Seabreeze High School

Kai BIe

Dante DiPietro

Peyton Domayer

Akshay Gupta

Delaney Kimble

Kayla Lancing

Haylee Ochipa


Spruce Creek High School

Gia Bhatla

Selena Enoch

Jacob Friedman

Jenny Lui

Andrew Sadek


T. Dewitt Taylor Middle-High School

Jocelyn Aguirre

Isabela Cosio

Kayden Duncan


University High School

Rylee Amodeo

Fabiana Oyola

Alea Smith


            The Tomorrow’s Leaders Program is presented by the FUTURES Foundation for Volusia County Schools, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, whose mission is to engage business and civic leaders to promote and achieve educational excellence for Volusia County Public Schools.   For more information about FUTURES Foundation, please visit or contact Shimene Shepard, Executive Director, at (386) 255-6475, extension 50730, or sashepa1Volusia.K12.FL.US.

Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!