Call Us: 386-255-6475 ext 50730

Volusia Names Josie Ruth Stumpf Teacher of the Year

Volusia Names Josie Ruth Stumpf Teacher of the Year

Josie Ruth Stumpf, 5th grade teacher from Holly Hill School, is Volusia County Schools' Teacher of the Year for 2021.  She will serve as Volusia County’s Teacher of the Year for one year, representing all of Volusia’s teachers. 

Ms. Stumpf received her award before an audience of more than 925 friends of public education at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort on Friday, January 17, 2020. The announcement was made at a celebration presented by AdventHealth and co-hosted by FUTURES Foundation and Volusia County Schools. Stumpf replaces Ian Jackson, who was Volusia County's 2020 Teacher of the Year.

In addition, four other teachers received special recognition as finalists (pictured left to right):

  • Denise Hulette, 8th Grade Science Teacher, Deltona Middle
  • Amanda Silva, 8th Grade Science Teacher, Heritage Middle
  • Amy U. Spies, 4th Grade Teacher, R.J. Longstreet Elementary
  • Karen Weinrich, 2nd Grade Teacher, Spruce Creek Elementary



Three teachers were named recipients of an award that represents the school district’s three guiding principles. Superintendent Dr. Scott Fritz presented the awards along with a $150 check from FUTURES Foundation to:


· Representing Guiding Principle #1, Dedication to Increased Student Achievement – Ebonyia Newmon, 2nd grade teacher at Westside Elementary.


  • Representing Guiding Principle #2, Commitment to Finding Solutions to Problems – Amy Airgood, 5th grade Mathematics and Science Teacher at Ormond Beach Elementary.


  • Representing Guiding Principle #3, Mutual Respect and Positive Relationships with all Stakeholders – Jeanne Jendrzejewski, Spanish teacher at DeLand High School.

Major sponsors of the Teacher of the Year celebration included: Presenting Sponsor AdventHealth; Vehicle Sponsors Daytona Kia, Daytona Mitsubishi, and Diamond Motors & Marine; Platinum Sponsor Addition Financial; Gold Sponsors Florida Health Care Plans, LEGOLAND Florida, Rhodes + Brito Architects, Space Coast Credit Union, and Volusia United Educators (VUE); Silver Sponsors BRPH Architects-Engineers, Inc., Days Inn of Ormond, Fairwinds Credit Union, Florida Credit Union, Giles Electric Company, Inc., H.J. High Construction Company, Dr. Robert & Candace Lankford, Launch Federal Credit Union, Mainstreet Community Bank, Publix Super Markets Charities, and SGM Engineering; and Bronze Sponsors CenterState Bank, CPH, Inc., William & Linda Cuthbert, Intracoastal Bank, Leonard’s Studios, PDK East Central, Florida Chapter 1345, Susan & Carl Persis, TD Bank, Paul & Dr. Rosaria Upchurch, LMFT, Volusia Association of School Administrators (VASA), Volusia County Council of PTA’s, Volusia County Sheriff’s Office, and Arthur & Ida Wright.

FUTURES Foundation Regent’s Club Members who serve as sponsors for all events are Cobb Cole, Duke Energy, Florida Health Care Plans, Florida Power & Light Company, and Rue & Ziffra. FUTURES Foundation Chancellor’s Club Members include Addition Financial, Brown & Brown Insurance, Hyatt & Cici Brown, Coloni Family Foundation, Foundation Risk Partners, and LPGA.

Major in-kind sponsors were Daytona Beach News-Journal, Dean Stewart Photography, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Herff Jones Co., Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, Jostens Inc., LEGOLAND Florida, MBI Direct Mail, Merlin Entertainments, Nina B. Hollis Institute at Stetson University, Simply Roses, Southern Stone (WVYB, WKRO, & WNDB), and Wishworks Media.

Dozens of businesses and organizations in Volusia County also contributed donations of goods and services to Volusia's Teacher of the Year program.

Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!