Call Us: 386-255-6475 ext 50730

FUTURES Names First Year Teacher Award Finalists

FUTURES Foundation for Volusia County Schools announced its 2020 First Year Teacher Award finalists during surprise video meetings this past week. Due to COVID-19, its annual recognition event is postponed until large gatherings are permissible; however, FUTURES honored the six finalists with $100 checks and surprise video announcements hosted by their principals. 

Finalists were selected from 53 nominees who were chosen to represent their schools. To be considered for the recognition, nominees must have earned a Baccalaureate degree, started a full-time teaching career on or after Jan. 1, 2019, performed outstandingly based on standards established by the Volusia County School District and been nominated by their school principal.

The 2020 elementary level finalists are Danielle Gregory, first grade teacher at Friendship Elementary; Onnie Norman, first grade teacher at Spirit Elementary; and Rachel Secord, third grade teacher at Spruce Creek Elementary.  The 2020 secondary level finalists are Meghan McKenna, physical education teacher at University High; William H. Parrish-Talk, culinary arts teacher at Silver Sands Middle; and Nicole M. Rose-Peadick, world history teacher at Heritage Middle.

This year’s 31 Elementary First Year Teacher nominees included:                            

Jazmin Skipper - Blue Lake Elementary School

Tala Saboungi - Champion Elementary School

Miranda Solms - Chisholm Elementary School

Olivia Noboa - Citrus Grove Elementary School

Kelley Markland - Cypress Creek Elementary School

Carissa Beattie - Deltona Lakes Elementary School

Jessica Vandermeulen - Edgewater Public School

Natalie Maynard - Enterprise Elementary School

Jacquelyn Dezerey Alicea - Forest Lake Elementary School

C. Angie Vogelzang - Freedom Elementary School

Danielle Gregory - Friendship Elementary School

Kristina Cawthon - George Marks Elementary School

Alexis Miller - Holly Hill School

Sierra Dollar - Indian River Elementary School

Emily Naghdi - Louise S. McInnis Elementary School

Sarah Kriner - Manatee Cove Elementary School

Nicholas Weaver - Orange City Elementary School

Rachael Nizialek - Ortona Elementary School

Maria Quinonez - Pierson Elementary School

Elyse Frezza - Pride Elementary School

Brionna Simpkins - Read-Pattillo Elementary School

Kelly Dooley - South Daytona Elementary School

Onnie Norman - Spirit Elementary School

Rachel Secord - Spruce Creek Elementary School

Nicole Richards - Sugar Mill Elementary School

Allison Brownell - Sunrise Elementary School

Lindy Feeser - Sweetwater Elementary School

Stephanie Wallace - Timbercrest Elementary School

Alexis Kurland - Tomoka Elementary School

Tasney Thomas - Westside Elementary School

Katrina Beck - Woodward Elementary School


This year’s 22 Secondary First Year Teacher nominees included:

Brooke Adkins - Atlantic High School

Adebisi Muibat Shittu - Campbell Middle School

Anna Hack - Creekside Middle School

Julio Rivera - David C. Hinson Middle School

Jackie Johnson - DeLand High School

Gina Klimas - DeLand Middle School

Jeremiah Johnson - Deltona High School

Jordan P. Gawel - Deltona Middle School

Kimbre Lemasney - Galaxy Middle School

Nicole M. Rose-Peadick - Heritage Middle School

Heidi Gerson - Holly Hill School

Dr. Verna-Kay Smith - Mainland High School

Phoenix Mason - New Smyrna Beach High School

Crystal G. Johnston - New Smyrna Beach Middle School

Tyler Cannon - Pine Ridge High School

Orlenna M. Garris - River Springs Middle School

Kristen Perkins - Seabreeze High School

William H. Parrish-Talk - Silver Sands Middle School

Patricia Arambulo - Southwestern Middle School

Elizabeth Maderas - Spruce Creek High School

Whitney Sylvia - T. DeWitt Taylor Middle/High

Meghan McKenna - University High School

Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!