Call Us: 386-255-6475 ext 50730

VCS Announces Superintendent’s Outstanding Achievement Award Winners

  • VCS Announces Superintendent’s Outstanding Achievement Award Winners
  • VCS Announces Superintendent’s Outstanding Achievement Award Winners

The School District of Volusia County and FUTURES Foundation for Volusia County Schools named Debra Keese, registrar at Cypress Creek Elementary School, and Sherry Shepherd, school bus operator in the DeLand area, as the 2018 Superintendent's Outstanding Achievement Award winners (see photos below).

Mrs. Keese is described in a letter of recommendation from Assistant Principal Rebecca Pitchford as making the school a better place "through her creativity, intellect, thoroughness, efficiency, personality and willingness to do whatever it takes."  With 20 years of experience with Volusia County Schools, Mrs. Keese is an expert in her job role and is readily available to lend a hand wherever there is a need.

Ms. Shepherd has been employed by the school district for 23 years and understands the impact bus operators have on students as the first person they see on their way to school every day.  She also knows consistency plays a role in student success, so she strives to maintain a daily presence.  In the past 11 years, she has had perfect attendance with only 6.5 days missed during her entire career.   "She is adaptable, collaborative, dependable and mission-minded.  In my years of working in the Volusia County School district, I have met very few professionals in the realm of Sherry Shepherd," stated Mitch Moyer, director of student transportation services, in a letter of recommendation.

The Superintendent's Outstanding Achievement Award is co-sponsored annually by FUTURES Foundation for Volusia County Schools and Volusia County Schools.  It was initiated to honor support staff members who have demonstrated outstanding commitment, teamwork, cooperation and innovation in their jobs.

All 24 nominees will be honored at a breakfast on Aug. 30 hosted by FUTURES.  Nominees for the Superintendent's Outstanding Achievement Award include:

Nominee Name

School/Department Name

Lori Canfield

Deltona Lakes Elementary School

Patti Comitale-Dahms

Seabreeze High School

Laura Daulton

Purchasing Department

Theodora Drager

Sugar Mill Elementary School

Majorie Fagan

Volusia Online Learning

Heather Foley

Citrus Grove Elementary

Beth Friedl

Turie T. Small Elementary

Wendy Gilley

Deltona High School

Debra Keese (winner)

Cypress Creek Elementary

Karen LaFond

Sweetwater Elementary

Teresa Lee

Indian River Elementary School

Diane LuQuise

Hinson Middle School

Jamie Luxton

University High School

Susan MacDermant

Edgewater Public School

Loraine McKinney

Spruce Creek Elementary School

Liz Perez

Southwestern Middle School

Shawn Poole

Enterprise Elementary

Cynthia Rosa

Chisholm Elementary School

Sharon Ruperto

Sunrise Elementary

Sherry Shepherd (winner)

Student Transportation Services

Barbara Spargur

Spirit Elementary School

Claudia Supplee

Coronado Beach Elementary

Susan Wilson

Blue Lake Elementary School

Sigrid "Sigi" Wire

George Marks Elementary


Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!