Call Us: 386-255-6475 ext 50730

Volusia Schools Select Teachers of the Year

Volusia Schools Select Teachers of the Year

Volusia County Schools 71 Teachers of the Year were announced and honored in a special outdoor ceremony hosted by VCS, the FUTURES Foundation for Volusia County Schools, The Daytona Tortugas, and presented by AdventHealth, the official healthcare champion of Volusia County Schools. 

Click here to watch the celebration!

Each of Volusia's public schools completes a formal process to select its Teacher of the Year. The winners, chosen by their peers, are nominated to compete for the honor of Volusia County Schools’ 2022 Teacher of the Year, to be announced in January. The current Volusia County Teacher of the Year is Josie Stumpf, who teaches fifth grade at Holly Hill School.

Stumpf and 2019 VCS Teacher of the Year Nicole Grebosz were among the VIP speakers at Wednesday evening’s all-star-themed Teacher of the Year reception held at Jackie Robinson Ballpark. School Board Vice Chair Linda Cuthbert brought greetings on behalf of the School Board, and Superintendent Dr. Carmen Balgobin praised the Teachers of the Year for exemplifying excellence in teaching. FUTURES President Bob Ludlow thanked the many sponsors who made the event possible.

The 2022 district Teacher of the Year winner will be announced in January and will be nominated for the state Teacher of the Year program. The Teachers of the Year and their schools are:

  • Rosalind Alderman-Little, Alternative Education
  • Don Brunning, Atlantic High
  • Nereida Colon, Blue Lake Elementary
  • Tonya Harden, Campbell Middle
  • Lynsey Wood, Champion Elementary
  • Lorrie J. Schwartz, Chisholm Elementary
  • Frank Garaitonandia, Citrus Grove Elementary
  • Heather Ranieri, Coronado Beach Elementary
  • Jan Consiglio, Creekside Middle
  • Kimberly Krivich, Cypress Creek Elementary
  • Esther Ashton, David C. Hinson Sr. Middle
  • Nicole Santina Strocchia, DeBary Elementary
  • Jim Lowenstein, DeLand High
  • Lori J. Beans, DeLand Middle
  • Adrienne Palmer, Deltona High
  • Catherine Connell, Deltona Lakes Elementary
  • Tanya Naylon, Deltona Middle
  • Irma Lima, Discovery Elementary
  • Gina M. Flanagan, Edgewater Public Elementary
  • Dr. Zena J. Ramsey, Edith I. Starke Elementary
  • Sherri Barry, Enterprise Elementary
  • Robin Bradshaw, Forest Lake Elementary
  • Melissa Flesch, Freedom Elementary
  • Michelle L. Kelley, Friendship Elementary
  • Sandra Bradley, Galaxy Middle
  • Laura Matthews, George W. Marks Elementary
  • Elizabeth Bidwell, Heritage Middle
  • Marie McCalligan, Holly Hill School
  • Vanessa Cassel, Horizon Elementary
  • Tracy Graham, Indian River Elementary
  • Nathaniel Lee Sylvester, Legacy Scholars Academy
  • Joe Biggs, Longstreet Elementary
  • Rebecca Dail, Louise S. McInnis Elementary
  • Nikki R.Golub, Mainland High
  • Rebecca Gaebel, Manatee Cove Elementary
  • Hervey Eisenbach, New Smyrna Beach High
  • Sue Carignan, New Smyrna Beach Middle
  • Vanesa López-Muñiz, Orange City Elementary
  • Julie Reheiser, Ormond Beach Elementary
  • Kelly Ambrose, Ormond Beach Middle
  • Jan-Michael Scott, Ortona Elementary
  • Christy Cleckler, Osceola Elementary
  • Roxanne Hirt Goodling, Osteen Elementary
  • Elizabeth Delores Harkness, Palm Terrace Elementary
  • Heidi Flannery, Pathways Elementary
  • Randee Ruth, Pierson Elementary
  • Brenda Burgett, Pine Ridge High
  • Amanda Burgess, Pine Trail Elementary
  • Reva Woodard, Port Orange Elementary
  • Kari Dalusio, Pride Elementary
  • Sarah Snyder, Read-Pattillo Elementary
  • Barbara Mulkey, River Springs Middle School of Technology & Innovation
  • Carly Cravotta, Seabreeze High
  • Joey Powell, Silver Sands Middle
  • Lauren Sita, South Daytona Elementary
  • Cari Zillmann, Southwestern Middle
  • Blair Duoos, Spirit Elementary
  • Amy Charron Woodard, Spruce Creek Elementary
  • Samantha Murray, Spruce Creek High
  • Stephanie Ann Ramos, Sugar Mill Elementary
  • Marianne Dolce, Sunrise Elementary
  • Megan Martens, Sweetwater Elementary
  • Richard Gonzalez, Taylor Middle-High
  • Sheryl Chase, Timbercrest Elementary
  • Brandi Hartman, Tomoka Elementary
  • Angel M. Sessoms, Turie T. Small Elementary
  • Dr. Orlando Roman, University High
  • Amy Chalfant, Volusia Online Learning
  • Jessica Minor, Volusia Pines Elementary
  • Linnell Cooper, Westside Elementary
  • Maeve McNew, Woodward Avenue Elementary

Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!