Call Us: 386-255-6475 ext 50730

FUTURES Recognizes 74 middle & high school students as Turn Around recipients

FUTURES Foundation for Volusia County Schools announced its 2021 Turn Around student recipients during its annual recognition event May 4 at Jackie Robinson Ballpark. Seventy-four middle and high school students were recognized in front of more than 200 parents, family members, principals, district administrators, and FUTURES Board members.

Each spring FUTURES invites all middle and high school principals and their school teams to select a recipient from each grade level per school who has shown a dramatic improvement in grades, behavior, attitude and/or citizenship. Each student received a personalized certificate signed by Superintendent Dr. Scott Fritz and School Board Chairman Linda Cuthbert. Superintendent Dr. Fritz and School Board Vice Chairman Jamie Haynes offered their congratulations during the program. Mainstreet Community Bank and the Daytona Tortugas assisted FUTURES in sponsoring the evening which provided a meal for all attendees.

Middle school Turn Around recipients are:

Campbell Middle School: Mike Sirett (6); Willow Wilniya Chisholm (7); Kasey Gallagher (8)

Creekside Middle School: Shania Haas (6); Talib Waits (7); Bradley Bizik (8)

DeLand Middle School: Lance Akins (6); Jessie Pyle (7); Jaiden Roman-Pacheco (8)

Deltona Middle School: Clayton Williams (6); Da’Shawn Charles (7); Shyanne Hope Miller (8)

Galaxy Middle School: Dakoto Rasnake (6); Tequoia Wilkins (7); Jaay-R Cook, Jr. (8)

Heritage Middle School: Wildanel Rosado (6); Sean Carlson (7); Heaven Pritt (8)

Hinson Middle School: Amare Campbell (7); Alex Clark (8)

Holly Hill School: Robert Schaper (6); Rod’Dranique Foster (7); Yasmin McCraney (8)

New Smyrna Beach Middle School: Ryan Murphy (6); Justin Torres (7); Peyton Harlowe (8)

Ormond Beach Middle School: Shane Tella (6); Timothy Cochran (7); Samuel Puckett (8)

River Springs Middle School: Kenneth Velazquez (6); Brittany Francois (7); Ivan Byrd (8)

Silver Sands Middle School: Jamarie Jones (6); Lucas Grady Hollifield (7); Kelsea Nicole O’Connor (8)

Southwestern Middle School: Ruby Flores (6); Tauren Nicholson (7); Teleah Reddick (8)

Taylor Middle High: Raven Scott (6); Blake Bunting (7); Carlos Ramirez (8)

High school Turn Around recipients are:

Atlantic High School: Justice Van Meter (9); Shacoria Epps (11); Adam Gibbs (12)

DeLand High School: Tyler Nill (9); Skyler King (10); Trentin Phillips (11); Cor’Njhia Dunn (12)

Deltona High School: Jeremie Cuevas (9); Damian Torres-Millares (10); Carlos Rivera (11); Rebecca Vega (12)

Mainland High School: Shylah Bobbit (9); Christopher Fitzgibbon (10); Ja Kaia Webb (11); Ashley Felder (12)

New Smyrna Beach High School: Shaun Diehl Jr. (11); JaQuan Wood (12)

Pine Ridge High School: Bianca Victoria Rosario Quintanilla (9); Leighana Bardwell (10); Mario Jose Cuadrado Diaz (11); Robert Lane Foster (12)

Seabreeze High School: Dylan Francis (9); Amondre Willis (10); Jeremy Allen (11); Tonea Jackson (12)

Spruce Creek High: Amiyah Clark (9); Carlton Clark (10); Baylei Rader (11); Raheem Heath (12)

Taylor Middle High: Adalis Acevedo (10)

University High School: David Alexander Toledo-Veguilla (9); Donovan Knight Accardi (11); Alexis Wildamier Marrero Ayala (12)

FUTURES Foundation is a nonprofit, direct support organization founded in 1985 to support Volusia County Schools. Its mission is to engage business and civic leaders to promote and achieve educational excellence for Volusia County Public Schools. The Foundation’s 29-member board of directors consists of area business and civic leaders who direct and raise funds to facilitate a variety of programs in the school district. Through business and individual donations, FUTURES presents programs such as the Turn Around Celebration. For additional information about FUTURES, please contact Executive Director Cynthia Ramirez at 386.255.6475, ext. 50730, or, or visit its website at

All photos are listed left to right:

Photo 1 Campbell Middle School: Principal Cindy Townsend, Willow Wilniya Chisholm, and Kasey Gallagher (not pictured: Mike Sirett)

Photo 2 DeLand Middle School: Assistant Principal Kemisha Rainge, Lance Akins, and Jaiden Roman-Pacheco (not pictured: Jessie Pyle)

Photo 3 Deltona Middle School: Assistant Principal Greg Iorio, Clayton Williams, and Shyanne Hope Miller (not pictured: Da’Shawn Charles)

Photo 4 Galaxy Middle School: Principal Efrain Alejandro, Dakoto Rasnake, Tequoia Wilkins, Jaay-R Cook, Jr., and Assistant Principal Dr. Sherry Pough

Photo 5 Heritage Middle School: Principal Thomas Vaughan, Wildanel Rosado, Sean Carlson, and Heaven Pritt

Photo 6 Hinson Middle School: Assistant Principal William Smith, Amare Campbell, and Alex Clark

Photo 7 Holly Hill School: Assistant Principal Michael Zablo, Robert Schaper, Rod’Dranique Foster, and Yasmin McCraney

Photo 8 New Smyrna Beach Middle School: Principal Sabra Farajallah, Justin Torres, and Peyton Harlowe (not pictured: Ryan Murphy)

Photo 9 Ormond Beach Middle School: Counselor Lisa Gallagher, Timothy Cochran, and Shane Tella (not pictured: Samuel Puckett)

Photo 10 River Springs Middle School: Assistant Principal Candace Ezell, Kenneth Velazquez, and Ivan Byrd (not pictured: Brittany Francois)

Photo 11 Silver Sands Middle School: Assistant Principal Todd Leathead, Lucas Grady Hollifield, and Kelsea Nicole O’Connor (not pictured Jamarie Jones)

Photo 12 Southwestern Middle School: Assistant Principal Stephanie DiGrazia and Tauren Nicholson (not pictured: Ruby Flores and Teleah Reddick)

Photo 13 Atlantic High School: Principal Dr. Stephen Hinson, Justice Van Meter, Shacoria Epps, and Adam Gibbs

Photo 14 DeLand High School: Assistant Principal Lashawn Troutman and Trentin Phillips (not pictured: Tyler Nill, Skyler King and CorNjhia Dunn)

Photo 15 Deltona High School: Principal Michael Micallef, Jeremie Cuevas, Damian Torres-Millares, Carlos Rivera and Rebecca Vega

Photo 16 Mainland High School: Assistant Principal Rodney Smith, Christopher Fitzgibbon, Ja Kaia Webb, Ashley Felder and Principal Dr. Joseph Castelli (not pictured: Shylah Bobbit)

Photo 17 New Smyrna Beach High School: Principal Timothy Merrick and JaQuan Wood (not pictured: Shaun Diehl Jr.)

Photo 18 Pine Ridge High School: Teacher on Assignment Andrew Targowski, Bianca Victoria Rosario Quintanilla, Leighana Bardwell, and Mario Jose Cuadrado Diaz (not pictured: Robert Lane Foster)

Photo 19 Spruce Creek High: Assistant Principal Alan Canetti, Amiyah Clark, Carlton Clark, Baylei Rader, Raheem Heath

Photo 20 University High: Assistant Principal Kerry Cunningham and Donovan Knight Accadri (not pictured: David Alexander Toledo Veguilla and Alexis Wildamier Marrero Ayala)

Schools not pictured: Creekside Middle, Seabreeze High, and Taylor Middle-High

  • campbell middle
  • deland middle
  • deltona middle
  • galaxy middle
  • heritage middle
  • hinson middle
  • holly hill
  • new smyrna beach middle
  • ormond beach middle
  • river springs middle
  • silver sands middle
  • southwestern middle
  • atlantic high
  • deland high
  • deltona high
  • mainland high
  • new smyrna beach high
  • pine ridge high
  • spruce creek high
  • university

Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!